Biodiversity Management Committies

Section 41 of the Biological Diversity Act 2002 envisages constitution of biodiversity management committee (BMC) by every local body for the purpose of Promoting conservation of biological diversity. Sustainable use and documentation of biological diversity. Preservation of habitats. Conservation of land-races, folk varieties and cultivars,domesticated stocks & breeds of animals and microorganisms. Chronicling of knowledge relating to biodiversity. Facilitating preparation of people's biodiversity registers (PBRs).

The National Biodiversity Authority (NBA) and the state biodiversity boards shall consult the biodiversity management committees while taking any decision relating to the use of biological resources and knowledge associated with such resources occurring within the territorial jurisdiction of the biodiversity management committee.

The biodiversity management committee may levy charges by way of collection of fees from any person for accessing or collecting any biological resource for commercial purposes from areas falling within its territorial jurisdiction.

The biodiversity management committees are to be constituted at zillaparishad, mandalparishad, gram panchayat, municipality & municipal corporation level.

The biodiversity management committees shall have 7 persons nominated, who should be drawn from local naturalists, herbalists, agriculturists, non-timber forest produce collectors / traders, fisher-folk, community workers, academicians etc.

The chairperson of the local body shall be ex-officio chairman of the biodiversity management committee.

BMC Application FormatTelugu | English